USER Log-in

Australian Data Archive

About the National Criminal Justice Research Data Network

The project is funded by the Commonwealth Government's National eResearch Architecture Taskforce (NeAT), administered by the Australian Data Research Service (ANDS) and the Australian Research Collaborative Service (ARCS). The Crime Research Centre at The University of Western Australia was established in 1989 as a joint initiative between the State Government and the University. Its main role is the analysis of Western Australian criminal justice data which, since its foundation, has provided a better understanding of the extent of the crime problem in WA.

The NCJRDN is overseen by a Project Committee which comprises:

  • Dr Adam Tomison, Director, Australian Institute of Criminology (Chair)
  • Dr Andrew Treloar, Deputy Director, Australian Data Research Service
  • Dr Paul Coddington, Custom Projects Manager, Australian Research Collaborative Service
  • Professor Frank Morgan , Director, UWA Crime Research Centre
  • Ms Jackie Fitzgerald, Deputy Director, NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research
  • Mr Max Maller, Senior Analyst, UWA Crime Research Centre (Project Manager)
  • Mr Taruia Nicholls, Research Associate, UWA Crime Research Centre (Project Officer)

The NCJRDN also includes a Project Reference Group with each member representing the different Australian criminal justice jurisdictions:

  • Australian Capital Territory - Mr Jason Payne, Australian Institute of Criminology
  • New South Wales - Ms Jackie Fitzgerald, Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research
  • Northern Territory - Mr Stephen Jackson, Department of Justice
  • Queensland - Professor Anna Stewart, Griffith University
  • South Australia - Mr Taruia Nicholls, UWA Crime Research Centre
  • Tasmania - Mr Jonathon Rees, Department of Justice
  • Victoria - Dr Stuart Ross, University of Melbourne
  • Western Australia - Mr Max Maller, UWA Crime Research Centre

Project governance includes the Project Committee, Funding Body Representatives and the Code of Conduct and Ethics of The University of Western Australia.


About the ARC Centre for Excellence in Policing and Security

The Australian Research Council (ARC) Centre of Excellence in Policing and Security (CEPS) was established by the ARC in 2007 to boost policing and security research capacity in Australia amid the growing complexity and internationalisation of transnational crime in the post 9/11 environment. CEPS is a complex research enterprise consisting of multiple collaborating researchers, and university and partner organisations. CEPS is administered by Griffith University in Brisbane and operates across four University Nodes:

  • Griffith University
  • Australian National University
  • University of Queensland
  • Charles Sturt University

Funding Partners

Collaboration Partners

logo_arc logo_nrc Logo_anu logo_uwa logo_uts logo_um logo_uq